Nitish Kumar oath at this time, 2 deputies seemingly

Patna, November 15

The NDA in Bihar on Sunday unanimously elected Nitish Kumar as its leader in the state legislature, paving the way for his return as Chief Minister for the fourth consecutive term.

According to sources, an announcement to the effect was made at the Chief Minister’s official residence by senior BJP leader and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, who had flown down for the occasion. Later, Nitish met Governor Phagu Chauhan and staked claim to form the new government in the state.

Talking to reporters outside his residence upon returning from Raj Bhawan, he said the swearing-in would take place on Monday evening and parried questions about BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi returning as his deputy.

The saffron party, meanwhile, named the four-time Katihar MLA Tarkishore Prasad as BJP Legislature Party leader, indicating that he could be Deputy Chief Minister in the new NDA government headed by Nitish. Bettiah MLA Renu Devi has been made deputy leader of the BJP Legislature Party. She could be another Deputy CM from the saffron party.

Prasad and Renu Devi’s names were announced at the Legislature Party meeting here. Incumbent Deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi proposed Prasad’s name. — PTI

No clarity on BJP-LJP ties

It remains to be seen what shape the BJP-LJP ties take at the Centre. The JD(U) has expressed its opposition to any ties with Chirag’s party.

Be the first to comment on "Nitish Kumar oath at this time, 2 deputies seemingly"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: