BJP, Congress candidates file papers on final day

Tribune News Service

Gohana, October 16

BJP nominee and Olympic medallist Yogeshwar Dutt, Congress candidate Induraj Narwal and INLD’s Joginder Singh Malik filed their nominations for the high-stake Baroda Assembly bypoll today.

In all, 24 candidates have filed nominations for the bypoll, with 17 of them doing so on Friday alone. Polling will be held on November 3 and the counting of votes on November 10.

While the BJP announced Dutt’s candidature on Thursday night, the Congress and INLD declared their candidates hours before the nominations for the bypoll were to close on Friday.

Yogeshwar had also contested the 2018 poll, but lost with a margin of around 5,000 votes. He belongs to Bhainswal village in the constituency.

The bypoll was necessitated due to the demise of Congress MLA Shri Krishan Hooda in April.

Kamaljeet of Nirjan village (Jind), Ramphal Sharma of Urlana Kala village (Panipat), advocate Shakti Singh of Sanghi village (Rohtak), Gulshan and Saroj Bala have filed their nominations as Independent candidates.

Be the first to comment on "BJP, Congress candidates file papers on final day"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: