Bibi Jagir Kaur elected SGPC president for third time

Tribune News Service

Amritsar, November 26

Senior SAD leader Bibi Jagir Kaur has been elected president of the Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee for the third time.

On Thursday, the members, owing allegiance to the SAD, entrusted all rights to party president Sukhbir Singh Badal to take the final call on electing the new head of the Sikh body, during a closed-door session at Teja Singh Samundri Hall here.

Amidst opposition by some members, who proposed the name of former SAD leader Mithu Singh Kahneke, the voting process was adopted.

Jagir Kaur emerged winner with a convincing margin. She got 122 votes, of a total of 143 votes that were polled.

She was earlier the president of the committee from 1999 to 2000.

In 2000, she resigned from her post following the controversy in which she was accused of allegedly killing her daughter. She was acquitted by Punjab and Haryana High Court in December 2018.

The rest of the office-bearers were elected unanimously.

Surjeet Singh Bhittewid was elected senior vice-president and Buta Singh was elected junior vice-president. Bhagwant Singh Sialka was nominated general secretary.

Kahneke, SGPC member from Mansa, had resigned from the primary membership of the SAD due to differences with leadership in August.

Bibi Jagir Kaur proposed his name for executive.

Other executive members include Navtej Singh, Baldev Singh Chung, Satwinder Singh Tohra, Bhupinder Singh Bhelwan, Amrik Singh, Sant Charanjit Singh, Darshan Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Malkiat Kaur and Ajmer Singh.

Be the first to comment on "Bibi Jagir Kaur elected SGPC president for third time"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: