51% polling in Bihar until 5 pm in 94 segments

Patna, November 3 

Over 51 per cent of the total 2.85 crore electors in 94 constituencies of Bihar exercised their franchise till 5 pm in the second phase of voting on Tuesday, according to Election Commission data.

Among the 17 districts where these 94 seats are located, the highest poll percentage of 54.89 has been recorded in Muzaffarpur, according to the Election Commission’s Voter Turnout App, updated till 5 pm.

The lowest turnout of 39.65 per cent has been reported from Patna district. Its Kumhrar, an urban constituency, has recorded just 27.91 per cent voting.

The estimated overall turnout at 5 pm is 51.68 per cent (provisional), the poll panel data said.

The turnout during the corresponding hours in the first phase on October 28 was 51.91 per cent.

Vaishali district’s Raghopur, from where RJD leader and chief ministerial candidate of the opposition Grand Alliance Tejashwi Yadav is contesting, has recorded 54 per cent polling, as per the EC data.

Hasanpur, from where Lalu Prasad’s elder son Tej Pratap Yadav is in the fray, has recorded an estimated 54.25 per cent votes till 5 pm.

Fifty-one per cent voting was recorded in Parsa from where JDU’s Chandrika Roy, the father of Tej Pratap’s estranged wife Aishwarya, is contesting.

Prominent personalities including Governor Phagu Chauhan, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi, Tejashwi Yadav, and LJP president Chirag Paswan cast their votes in their respective polling booths in the morning.

Kumar did not speak to the media waiting outside the polling station, while Tejashwi Yadav said after casting the ballot that people are “angry” with the government and they will vote for education, health, irrigation and law and order.

Former chief minister and Lalu Prasad’s wife Rabri Devi said Bihar needed change.

Polling began at 7 am, but the time for its conclusion has been extended by one hour till 6 pm to facilitate COVID-19 patients and those with symptoms of the disease to exercise their franchise during the final hour.

The process, however, concluded early in Maoist-hit areas.

The Election Commission had said voting would end at 4 pm in eight seats — Gaura Bauram and Kusheshwar Asthan in Darbhanga district; Minapur, Paroo and Sahebganj in Muzaffarpur; Alauli and Beldour in Khagaria; and Raghopur in Vaishali. 

Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said: “Voters may have some resentment but I am fully sure about the win of NDA. We are 100 per cent sure that we will form the new government under the leadership of Nitish Kumar.” Former Chief Minister Rabri Devi too claimed that she had received positive reports from all polling stations in favour of the Mahagathbandhan.

Janata Dal-United leader Chandrika Rai alleged that the Rashtriya Janata Dal had made unrealistic promise on providing 10 lakh government jobs. “It is not easy and people will not get influenced by their bluff.” Meanwhile, three members of a family were allegedly assaulted outside a polling booth in Fatuha town in Patna district. The victims claimed that a group of people pressured them to vote in favour of their party’s candidates which they refused. When they came out of the booth after voting, they were attacked and injured, they alleged.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi appealed to electors to vote in large numbers while following social distancing norms and wearing a mask. Photo credit: Twitter/CeoBihar

Be the first to comment on "51% polling in Bihar until 5 pm in 94 segments"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: