The present begins

MUMBAI, September 18

After months of uncertainty as a result of Covid-19 pandemic, the delayed season of the Indian Premier League will kick off within the United Arab Emirates tomorrow with a conflict between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings.

2019’s prime performers

  • Most Valuable Player: Andre Russell (KKR) 369 factors

  • Orange Cap: David Warner (SRH) 692 runs

  • Purple Cap: Imran Tahir (CSK) 26 wickets

  • Highest Score: Jonny Bairstow (SRH) 114

  • Best Bowling Figures: Alzarri Joseph (MI) 6/12

The 2020 version of the world’s richest T20 league was initially scheduled to start on March 29 in India however needed to be postponed indefinitely by the nation’s cricket board (BCCI) on account of worsening scenario of the pandemic. IPL’s cancellation would have meant a possible $534 million loss in income, main the board to shift the event out of India, which is the world’s second-worst affected nation with over 5 million instances of coronavirus infections.

The postponement of this 12 months’s T20 World Cup in Australia due to the pandemic additionally helped. It offered a window within the worldwide cricket calendar for the eight-team league, which is attended by many of the world’s prime gamers. The matches will likely be held in bio-secure bubbles in Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi in entrance of empty stands however organisers are hoping to permit some followers in the course of the later levels of the event, which is able to finish on November 10.

While it will likely be inconceivable to create the standard carnival-like environment within the stands, BCCI chief Sourav Ganguly felt organising the occasion was an try and convey normality to folks’s life in India. “Crowds will watch it on television … they (broadcasters) are actually expecting the highest rating of IPL this season because they believe if (people) don’t turn up in the ground, they will be actually watching on their television sets,” former India captain Ganguly mentioned. — Reuters

The groups


  • Last 12 months: Champions
  • Best end: Champions (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019)
  • Captain: Rohit Sharma
  • Coach: Mahela Jayawardene (Fourth 12 months)
  • Marquee gamers: Chris Lynn, Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah, James Pattinson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Trent Boult, Suryakumar Yadav, Sherfane Rutherford, Mitchell McClenaghan, Rahul Chahar


  • Last 12 months: Runners-up
  • Best end: Champions (2010, 2011, 2018)
  • Captain: Mahendra Singh Dhoni
  • Coach: Stephen Fleming (10th 12 months)
  • Marquee gamers: Ambati Rayudu, Faf du Plessis, Murali Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwyane Bravo, Karn Sharma, Shane Watson, Sam Curran, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Shardul Thakur, Josh Hazlewood, Piyush Chawla, Imran Tahir, Kedar Jadhav


  • Last 12 months: Third
  • Best end: Third (2009, 2012, 2019)
  • Captain: Shreyas Iyer
  • Coach: Ricky Ponting (Third 12 months)
  • Marquee gamers: Shreyas Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant, Shikhar Dhawan, Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Alex Carey, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada (in pic), Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra


  • Last 12 months: Fourth
  • Best end: Champions (2016)
  • Captain: David Warner
  • Coach: Trevor Bayliss (First 12 months)
  • Marquee gamers: David Warner, Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson (in pic), Vijay Shankar, Virat Singh, Jonny Bairstow, Priyam Garg, Mitchell Marsh, Wriddhiman Saha, Shreevats Goswami, Sandeep Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem


  • Last 12 months: Fifth
  • Best end: Champions (2012, 2014)
  • Captain: Dinesh Karthik
  • Coach: Brendon McCullum (First 12 months)
  • Marquee gamers: Eoin Morgan, Tom Banton, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Shivam Mavi, Andre Russell (in pic), Dinesh Karthik, Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Varun Chakravarthy, Kuldeep Yadav, Sunil Narine


  • Last 12 months: Sixth
  • Best end: Runners-up (2014)
  • Captain: KL Rahul
  • Coach: Anil Kumble (First 12 months)
  • Marquee gamers: Karun Nair, Chris Gayle (in pic), Mayank Agarwal, Deepak Hooda, Glenn Maxwell, KL Rahul, Nicholas Pooran, Chris Jordan, Sheldon Cottrell, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman


  • Last 12 months: Seventh
  • Best end: Champions (2008)
  • Captain: Steve Smith
  • Coach: Andrew McDonald (First 12 months)
  • Marquee gamers: Steve Smith, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Robin Uthappa, Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Andrew Tye, Jofra Archer, Kartik Tyagi, Jaydev Unadkat


  • Last 12 months: Eighth
  • Best end: Runners-up (2009, 2011, 2016)
  • Captain: Virat Kohli (in pic)
  • Coach: Simon Katich (First 12 months)
  • Marquee gamers: Virat Kohli, Aaron Finch, AB de Villiers, Chris Morris, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Parthiv Patel, Dale Steyn, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Adam Zampa

Be the first to comment on "The present begins"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: