Teenage Naseem named in Pak squad for T20Is

Southampton, August 21

Teenage tear-away pacer Naseem Shah was on Friday included within the Pakistan’s 17-member squad for the three-match T20I sequence in opposition to England starting August 28.

The 17-year-old, who has performed six Tests to this point, is but to make his white-ball debut for Pakistan.

Besides Naseem, Pakistan additionally included 19-year-old batsman Haider Ali, who carried out properly within the U-19 aspect, First-Class cricket and Pakistan Super League, within the aspect.

Babar Azam, who led the group to a T20 sequence win in opposition to Bangladesh earlier this yr, will proceed to captain the aspect within the upcoming sequence which can conclude on September 1.

Former captain Sarfaraz Ahmed, a wicket-keeper batsman, has additionally been named within the squad.

Experienced pacers Mohammad Amir, who had withdrawn from the tour because of the beginning of his second baby, and Wahab Riaz additionally return to the aspect, together with top-order batsman Fakhar Zaman.

All-rounder Shoaib Malik, who arrived in England on August 12, has additionally been named within the squad and shall be becoming a member of his group mates after clearing the COVID-19 checks.

“This is mostly the same team that has been featuring in the shortest format for us. Besides retaining the core, we have inducted youngsters like Haider Ali … and Naseem Shah as we had an opportunity to keep a bigger pool due to Covid-19 pandemic,” Pakistan head coach Misbah-ul-Haq mentioned in PCB media launch.

“Usually, the T20I team comes together for a brief period but due to the current situation most of the players have been here with us for more than a month and it has provided us a good opportunity to work on the development of the team and the young players.”

“So, even the players who may not get an opportunity to play will benefit from the experience they are getting here,” added the previous skipper, who can be Pakistan’s chief selector.

The three T20Is are scheduled to be held on August 28, 30, and September 1 in Manchester.

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shoaib Malik and Wahab Riaz. PTI 

Be the first to comment on "Teenage Naseem named in Pak squad for T20Is"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: