Punjab hammered by MP, end fifth in group

Indore, February 28

Punjab suffered a 105-run loss to Madhya Pradesh in their Group B match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy cricket tournament here today.

Opener Venkatesh Iyer’s 198 led Madhya Pradesh to 402/3. Punjab opener Abhishek Sharma led the chase with a 49-ball 104 but the other batsmen failed to support him as the side were all out for 297 in 42.3 overs.

In another match, Andhra outplayed Jharkhand by seven wickets to emerge on top of Group B. Meanwhile Tamil Nadu defeated Vidarbha by five wickets.

Andhra, Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand and Madhya Pradesh finished on 12 points each from five matches but Andhra emerged on top, thanks to their higher net run-rate and secured a place in the knockout phase.

Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh finished second, third and fourth, respectively, followed by Punjab (8 points) and Vidarbha (4 points).

Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 402/3 (Iyer 198, Shrivastava 88*); Punjab 297 all out in 42.3 overs (Sharma 104; Hirwani 4/62) — PTI

Be the first to comment on "Punjab hammered by MP, end fifth in group"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: