Kohli Wisden’s ODI participant of the 2010s

New Delhi, April 15

India captain Virat Kohli has been named the One-day International cricketer of the decade for the 2010s in the 2021 edition of the Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack.

Kohli is one of five cricketers been named for each decade from the 1970s. He was part of the team that won the 2011 World Cup at the start of the decade and went on to establish himself as one of the leading batsmen in all formats of the game, particularly in ODIs. He scored more than 11,000 runs in the ten-year stretch, averaging over 60 and scoring 42 centuries.

Sri Lanka spin legend Muttiah Muralitharan was named the ODI Cricketer of the 2000s.

Sachin Tendulkar and Kapil Dev have been named the best players of the 1990s and 1980s, respectively. Tendulkar scored nine ODI hundreds in 1998 alone, more than any other batsman in a single calendar year ever.

Kapil claimed more wickets than any other bowler in the 1980s, and scored at the highest strike-rate among batsmen with over 1,000 runs. He also led India to a stunning win in the 1983 World Cup against the all-conquering West Indies.

West Indies batting great Viv Richards was named the ODI cricketer of the year for the 1970s, which was the first decade of the format. Richards fuelled West Indies’ dominance in the first decade of the format, scoring a century in the final of the 1979 World Cup to help them win the trophy for the second time in a row. — TNS, agencies

List of BCCI’s Annual Contracts

Grade A+ (Rs 7 crore): Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

Grade A (Rs 5 crore): R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya

Grade B (Rs 3 crore): Wriddhiman Saha, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, Mayank Agarwal

Grade C (Rs 1 crore): Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Shubman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, Axar Patel, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj

Be the first to comment on "Kohli Wisden’s ODI participant of the 2010s"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: