Kohli voted decade’s greatest

DUBAI, December 28

India captain Virat Kohli topped two men’s categories and Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry swept the women’s honours in the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) “Awards of the Decade” announced today.

Kohli was declared the best male player of the decade, as well as the top ODI player. Prolific Australia batsman Steve Smith bagged the Test award to deny Kohli a clean sweep. Perry, 30, was adjudged the best woman player as well as the premier ODI and T20 player.

Kohli scored 66 of his 70 International hundreds in the awards period. In the same period, he was also the batsman with most fifties (94), most runs (20,396) besides having the highest average (56.97) among players with 70-plus innings.

The other nominees of the ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade were Ravichandran Ashwin, Joe Root, Kumar Sangakkara, Smith, Ab de Villiers and Kane Williamson. “It’s a great honour for me to receive this award,” Kohli, who returned from India’s ongoing tour of Australia to attend the birth of his first child, said in a video.

Kohli listed India’s triumphs in the 2011 ODI World Cup and 2013 Champions Trophy as well as the team’s maiden Test series victory in Australia under his captaincy two years ago as special moments. “I have relished all the battles in the last decade,” Kohli said. “I played against some great bowlers in the past and continued to play some quality bowlers even today. I take a lot of pride in competing against the best, testing myself out against the best in tough conditions.”

For the ODI honour, Kohli was the only player with 10,000-plus runs in the awards period, including 39 hundreds and 48 fifties at an average of 61.83.

Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan was named the best male T20 cricketer of the decade. “I am speechless after this award. For someone from Afghanistan to get this award, it’s a special moment for me, for my country and for my fans,” he said in a video message posted on ICC’s Twitter page. — Agencies

ICC decade awards (Male Cricketer)

  • Virat Kohli (India)
  • Female Cricketer
  • Ellyse Perry (Australia)
  • Men’s Test Cricketer
  • Steve Smith (Australia)
  • Men’s ODI Cricketer
  • Virat Kohli (India)

Women’s ODI Cricketer

  • Ellyse Perry (Australia)
  • Men’s T20I Cricketer
  • Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
  • Women’s T20I Cricketer
  • Ellyse Perry (Australia)

Spirit of Cricket Award

MS Dhoni (India)

Dhoni wins spirit of cricket award

Former India skipper MS Dhoni won the spirit of cricket award, chosen by fans for his gesture of calling back England batsman Ian Bell after a bizarre run-out in the Nottingham Test in 2011.

Be the first to comment on "Kohli voted decade’s greatest"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: