5-star Mumbai

DUBAI, November 10

Defending champions Mumbai Indians claimed their fifth Indian Premier League (IPL) title today, thrashing Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the final at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Delhi skipper Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant struck breezy fifties to help them overcome a top-order collapse, triggered by the bowling of Trent Boult (3/30), and post a competitive 156/7 after electing to bat.

Mumbai, who had beaten Delhi three times this season en route to the final, prevailed once again with eight balls to spare, dashing their opponents’ hopes of winning their maiden IPL title.

Rohit Sharma smashed a fluent 68 off 51 balls and Ishan Kishan made 33 not out down the order as Mumbai cruised to victory. — Reuters

Brief scores: Delhi Capitals: 156/7 in 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 65 not out, Rishabh Pant 56; Trent Boult 3/30, Nathan Coulter-Nile 2/29); Mumbai Indians: 157/5 in 18.4 overs (Rohit Sharma 68, Ishan Kishan 33; Anrich Nortje 2/25, Marcus Stoinis 1/23). 

Be the first to comment on "5-star Mumbai"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: