Suspended Opposition MPs finish dharna in Parliament after Azad broadcasts boycott of proceedings

Aditi Tandon

Tribune News Service

New Delhi, September 22

Suspended Rajya Sabha MPs from the Opposition on Tuesday ended their sit in on the Mahatma Gandhi statue in Parliament after Leader of Opposition within the House Ghulam Nabi Azad introduced a boycott of proceedings to protest the suspensions and the alleged forcible passage of farm payments within the higher home two days in the past.

Azad advised the House that the boycott would proceed until the eight suspended MPs have been introduced again, to which the federal government mentioned it was prepared offered the errant MPs regretted their behaviour with Deputy Chairman Harivansh in the course of the passage of farm payments the day earlier than.

Azad added that until the federal government took again its “forcibly passage bills”, the boycott would proceed.

Among the suspended MPs who sat in dharna are TMC’s Derek O’Brien and Dola Sen; Congress’ Rajeev Satav, Ripun Bora and Nazir Hussain; and AAP’s Sanjay Singh.

Also learn: Rajya Sabha deputy chairman expresses anguish at ‘humiliating’ conduct in direction of him in House, broadcasts 24-hour quick

Harivansh brings tea for protesting MPs; advised he was within the mistaken; PM praises him

Ending the dharna, Dola Sen mentioned: “After many Opposition parties have boycotted the remainder of the Monsoon Session of Rajya Sabha, the dharna at the Gandhi statue has ended. Now we will take our fight for the rights of the farmers to every town and village in the country.”

Meanwhile, the Congress hit again after Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman introduced a day-long quick towards the unlucky flip of occasions in the home and wrote a letter conveying the identical to Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu.

“After brazenly violating rules, procedures and practices for passing bills and making laws Deputy Chairman is shedding crocodile tears for Parliamentary democracy. Token fast is nothing but a farce. Hypocrisy will not wash away the sin of doing injustice to India’s farmers,” mentioned Anand Sharma, Congress deputy chief within the Rajya Sabha, mentioned.

Congress chief whip within the Rajya Sabha Jairam Ramesh mentioned the Opposition was boycotting proceedings for seven causes.

“The manner in which the bills have been bulldozed by the government; the manner in which eight MPs were suspended without a division on suspension motion as is the practice; the manner in which the Leader of the Opposition has not been allowed to speak; the manner in which the government has simply failed to accommodate the views of the opposition; the manner in which crucial bills have not been referred to select or standing committees, the manner in which division was not allowed on two agriculture marketing bills, the manner in which MSP was not made part of the farm laws and not mace applicable to private trade,” Jairam mentioned citing causes for opposition boycott of the Rajya Sabha until the federal government made amends.

Be the first to comment on "Suspended Opposition MPs finish dharna in Parliament after Azad broadcasts boycott of proceedings"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: