1 Kirti, 9 Shaurya Chakra; none for Galwan heroes

Tribune News Service

New Delhi, August 14

President Ram Nath Kovind at this time accepted 84 awards and decorations to armed forces personnel and paramilitary employees. The awards embrace a Kirti Chakra, 9 Shaurya Chakras, 5 Bar to Sena Medals (gallantry), 60 Sena Medals (gallantry), 4 Nao Sena Medals (gallantry) and 5 Vayu Sena Medals (gallantry).

Read additionally:

 The President has additionally accepted 19 Mention-in-Despatches to Army personnel for his or her contribution in numerous navy operations, which embrace eight posthumous for Operation Meghdoot at Siachen and counter-terrorism Operation Rakshak in J&Ok.

Navy pilot saved oil dump

  • Among Nao Sena Medal (gallantry) recipients is Capt Mrigank Shoekand, a MiG 29Ok pilot of Navy
  • Awarded for saving an oil dump at Zuari, Goa, when one engine of his airplane had failed and the opposite was on hearth
  • But he waited inside his airplane to steer it clear off the oil dump earlier than ejecting
 (L-R) Capt Mrigank Sheokand, Cdr Dhanush Menon, Haridas Kundu, Naveen Kumar 

None of the gallantry awards introduced at this time are for the clashes with China’s People’s Liberation Army (PLA) at Galwan on June 15 or the 2 in May at north of Pangong Tso, a 135-km glacial soften lake. All the three clashes occurred alongside in Ladakh. On the opposite hand, the Indo-Tibetan Border Police, which is co-located with the Army alongside the LAC, stated it had advisable gallantry awards for 21 personnel for his or her motion throughout faceoffs and skirmishes with Chinese troops in May-June. “The ITBP troops not only effectively used shields to protect themselves, but also responded fiercely to PLA advancing troops and brought the situation under control,” an ITBP spokesperson stated. On the checklist of Shaurya Chakra, the third highest peacetime gallantry award, is Lt Col KS Rawat for an operation alongside the Line of Control the place he and his crew waited in ambush for over 36 hours to strike at terrorists infiltrating from Pakistan. Havildar Alok Kumar Dubey killed a prime terrorist in gunfight, whereas Major Anil Urs is the third Army man to be awarded Shaurya Chakra for motion alongside the LoC.

4,000 invitees, 20% guests at purple fort

Only 20% of VVIPs and different individuals will witness PM Narendra Modi’s speech this yr. Over 4,000 individuals, together with diplomats, officers and media personnel, have been invited for the ceremony on the Red Fort, preserving in view the Covid-19 protocol, the Defence Ministry stated.

Amid covid disaster, seventh tackle by PM Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will ship his seventh straight I-Day speech from the ramparts of the Red Fort on Saturday — an tackle that comes amid the Covid-19 pandemic, a border standoff with China and a slew of reforms by the federal government below the Atmanirbhar Bharat initiative.

Low-key affair, No schoolkids this time

The occasion can be restricted to presentation of the Guard of Honour to the PM, unfurling of the Tricolour, accompanied by enjoying of the National Anthem and firing of a 21-gun salute, moreover PM’s speech. No schoolkids can be current this yr. Only NCC cadets will attend the celebrations, stated police officers.

Be the first to comment on "1 Kirti, 9 Shaurya Chakra; none for Galwan heroes"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: